November Feature Portfolio: Eddie Garcia

EddieArt

Link to Feature Portfolio

ARTIST STATEMENT

OPPOSITES ATTRACT IN MY EYES. THE CONFLICTING EXTREMES OF HAPPINESS AND DARKNESS COME TOGETHER TO MAKE FUNNY, YET DRAMATIC DESIGNS. A SENSE OF HUMOR IS SOMEWHAT ALWAYS PRESENT IN MY PIECES. IT’S VERY IMPORTANT FOR ME TO LIKE WHAT I’M DOING AND ALWAYS PICK AN INSPIRATION THAT I CAN BUILD ON OR CHANGE. THE WHOLE PIECE STARTS WITH A GOOD CONCEPT AND A GOOD INSPIRATION BECAUSE IF I’M NOT 100 PERCENT SOLD ON EITHER OF THOSE I WOULDN’T BE ABLE TO CONTINUE WORKING ON IT. SINCE I’M CONSTANTLY THINKING ABOUT FASHION, MY ARTWORK REFLECTS THAT. MY ARTWORK ALWAYS HAS SOME ELEMENT CONNECTED TO FASHION, WHETHER IT HAS THE SAME COLOR PALETTE AS MY LATEST ASSIGNMENT OR THE SAME EXACT INSPIRATION AS ONE. THIS YEAR, I DECIDED TO CONNECT FASHION AND ART EVEN MORE WITH WEARABLE ART. THIS SHOWS ME THAT FASHION CAN BE MORE THAN JUST PRETTY CLOTHING.

-Eddie Garcia

